French Parasitology Alliance For Health Care

Both the organisation structure and the management proposed for ParaFrap governance guarantee that the Joint Research, Training and Spreading Programme are monitored, evaluated and adjusted accordingly and approved by an Executive Committee (EC) composed of experienced representatives of the consortium. An external Scientific Advisory Board (eSAB) of internationally renowned scientists will oversee the ParaFrap activities and select consortium internal research proposal for financial support and candidates for young group leader position.

The ParaFrap scientific management will involve: a Scientific Director and two deputy Directors, an Executive Committee, four Research Work package leaders (and their deputies), a Director of training, an Institutional Board and an external Scientific Advisory Board. Rotations of the key positions, every three (Scientific and deputy directors) or four (Executive committee and WP leaders) years will ensure that a dynamic and wide-ranging consortium spirit is maintained and that young emerging group leaders have a chance to integrate into the decision taking process. Details will be elaborated in a specific consortium agreement that will define the mandate and role of each task in the consortium (established not later than 6 months after the acceptance of the LabEx).


Organigramme en


Particular emphasis will be devoted to strong and long-lasting integrating activities among the ParaFrap participants. The consortium will benefit from thoughtful management practices developed at the Executive Committee level, specifically tailored to enhance relevance, importance, scientific quality coordination, participation, productivity and communication. The management of ParaFrap will enhance effective coordination among the participating institutions to stimulate more collaborative research with industrial partners and to address a common problem, such management of Intellectual Property, earmarking funds specifically for collaborative research projects, creating multi-institutional PhD training programs, etc.

This consortium will also develop efforts on an efficient organization to share existing platforms and to develop the new facilities required to overcome current roadblocks in parasitology research. This integration will capitalize on existing institutional resources and allow rationalization of future infrastructure developments and research activities. ParaFrap will stimulate more collaborative projects, greater use of common protocols and databases, and more efficient use of research resources. This will be achieved by internal competitive calls for research funds.
Importantly, all funds will be awarded on a competitive level after the formal acceptance of the LabEx application. This concerns PhD fellowships, post doc positions, young group leader positions and funds for collaborative research projects. The collaborative aspects will be given the topmost priority and applications will be evaluated by an external Scientific Advisory Board. Young independent group leader positions will be advertised at the international level.

The Scientific Advisory Board is composed of 6 members, which include only foreign scientists. The members were selected on the basis of three fundamental criteria:

(i) internationally recognized excellence in their respective fields of expertise (making sure that the competence of the Board covers all the fields of the ParaFrap)

(ii) recognized expertise in leading important research organizations or in the participation of important Scientific Advisory Boards

(iii) recognized ability to actively provide constructive scientific input. The Scientific Advisory Board will be consulted before taking major strategic decision.

Interactions between participants of the ParaFrap will be fostered by the identification of crossover themes and technologies, as well as by common technical strategies. A major emphasis will be put on interactions of the ParaFrap participants with PhD students and post doctoral positions, which will be selected according to strong interactions and joint projects submitted by at least two distinct participants or an industrial partners.